MPs to vote on triggering Article 50 this evening


MP’s are expected to vote at 19:00 today on the Article 50 Bill, which when passed will give Prime Minister Theresa May the power to trigger Article 50 before the end of March – this is the deadline that she originally set. 

Although the bill is expected to be passed,more than 80 MPs have publicly announced that they will not be voting in favour of the bill. You can read more about that story here.

The majority of Conservative and Labour MP’s are expected to vote in favour, while the Lib Dems, Green party, SNP and some Labour MP rebels are voting against it. 

On Monday, politicians made impassioned speeches for and against the bill.

Mr Corbyn has imposed a three-line whip – the strongest possible instruction – on his MPs to back the bill, which is only two lines long. Up to 30 Labour MPs are still expected to defy leader Jeremy Corbyn.

How will you feel if your MP votes against the bill, going against your own wishes? Let us know at 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here